Yeah, about all that stuff I said in the last post…
The job is as far as I can tell still technically mine, but there is a lot standing in the way of my happily ever after:
- It’s unfortunate that I had to reach back to my customer service job to teach me anything, but in utilizing Western Union, I was taught that structured transactions over the course of one day - or, in my case, over consecutive days - can cause one’s bank account to be frozen. Nothing gets in, nothing gets out and you’re shit out of look if you wanna know how much you got left, but I’m pretty lucky in this regard; at least, I’m sure I have a pretty hefty chunk left over.
- Actually, I called my bank and I'm in the goddamn red. Whether or not this particular job situation is a scam as the woman on the phone theorized, a good job should take you out of debt, not put you further in, so I'm not sure if this is a business I want to be a part of. I'm applying elsewhere. People shit talk LinkedIn, but I'm fucking desperate.
- Without a functioning checking account, I can’t make a down payment on a new car (to say nothing of the automatic payments that are due), which pretty much means I’m still stuck with my rusted out shit box in need of a) an oil change, b) new brakes and c) a myriad of other issues that can’t be fixed with a simple reset of an engine light.
- The recruiter I’m talking to about all of this just now tried to tell me that this has never happened with any prior applicants to this job, which leads me to one of two disturbing but distinctive scenarios: a) he’s lying to me or b) he’s fucking lying to me and that’s just not cool.
- All this stuff may be settled by the time April rolls around or it may not, but that’s just too long to wait for a new job, a new paycheck, a new car, a new everything.
- Once again, the universe treats the piddling little stuff that I ask for as the hardest shit in the fucking world to deliver. I don’t think anybody screaming the N-word in my face for ten minutes on end could be more offensive than that.
- At this rate, I might actually end up eating dog food.
Labels: can you believe this shit?, Random Thoughts, rant

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home